Oyster publishes an EOR price of US$699 and RemotePass US$349 per employee per month, so RemotePass' headline fee is US$350 a month (US$4,200 a year) lower per employee. Country costs, benefits and add-ons can outweigh that difference.
Oyster: Global employment platform aimed at small and mid-sized distributed teams, with EOR, contractor payments and benefits administration.
RemotePass: Global hiring platform offering EOR, contractor payments, contractor of record, local payroll and visa sponsorship, each priced separately.
| Oyster | RemotePass | |
|---|---|---|
| Published EOR price | From US$699 / month | From US$349 / month |
| Pricing model | Per employee / month | Per employee / month |
| Products | Employer of Record, Contractor management, Benefits, Payroll | Employer of Record, Contractor management, Contractor of record, Local payroll, Visa sponsorship |
| Coverage | 180+ countries (provider claim) | Contractor of record in 150+ countries (provider claim); confirm EOR coverage for your countries |
| Headquarters | Fully distributed (incorporated in the USA) | Not stated |
| Founded | 2020 | Not stated |
| Factor | Oyster | RemotePass |
|---|---|---|
| Published EOR price | US$699 / employee / month | US$349 / employee / month |
| What the price covers | Published EOR price of USD 699 per employee per month; contractor management is priced separately (USD 29 per contractor per month). | Published 'starting at' price of US$349 per month for EOR. Contractors US$39 per month; contractor of record from US$299; local payroll from US$15; visa sponsorship (hiring plus visa and work permit) from US$549 per month. |
Consider Oyster ifโฆ
- You are a small or mid-sized team hiring a handful of people abroad
- You want a published EOR price rather than quote-only pricing
Consider RemotePass ifโฆ
- You want the lower published EOR price (US$349 vs US$699 per employee per month)
- You want a lower published EOR starting price than the larger platforms
- You need visa and work permit sponsorship as a packaged option
- What is the all-in monthly fee for my specific countries, on annual and monthly billing?
- Do you employ through your own entity or a partner in each country?
- What deposit is required, and how and when is it refunded?
- What currency conversion margin applies to invoices?
- How are benefits, termination costs and offboarding billed?
- Is there a fee for transferring employees to our own entity later?
Use our provider due-diligence checklist for the full list. To check the employment cost on top of either fee, see our country guides.
Is Oyster or RemotePass cheaper?
What's the main difference between Oyster and RemotePass?
Do Oyster and RemotePass use their own entities?
- 1
- 2
Related research
- Deel vs RemoteThe two best-known EOR platforms, with similar headline prices. The real differences are in how they employ people locally and how much of the wider HR stack you want from one vendor.
- Deel vs OysterA broad workforce platform versus a provider built around small and mid-sized distributed teams. Here's how their published pricing and positioning compare.
- Providers in PortugalHow Oyster, RemotePass and others compare for Portugal.
- Providers in SpainHow Oyster, RemotePass and others compare for Spain.