Skip to content
EOR Ledger
Last updated 7 min read

EOR Pricing Transparency Audit (October 2026): What 14 Providers Publish

We read the EOR pricing page of 14 Employer of Record providers on 26 October 2026 and recorded what each one tells a buyer before a sales call: the price, what it covers, deposits, setup and offboarding fees, contract terms, currency conversion and whether it employs through its own entities. Every finding quotes or summarises the provider's own page.

Photo of Mitchel Sosa

By ยท First published

  • 12 of 14 publish an EOR price; Rippling and Safeguard Global price by quote only.
  • Only 4 of 14 say anything about a deposit: Rivermate, Remote, Oyster and Playroll. Deposits can be a month of salary or more, so ask the rest before signing.
  • 4 of 14 clearly state there are no setup and offboarding fees, and 3 more address them in part.
  • 5 of 14 explain currency conversion at least in part.
  • 4 of 14 say whether you'd be employed through their own entities or partners on the pricing page.
  • Most transparent: Rivermate, answering 6 of 7 questions. Least: Rippling and Safeguard Global, which answer none on the page.

One point for each question the pricing page answers, half a point where it answers in part, out of 7.

ProviderScore (of 7)The page saysThe page doesn't say
Rivermate6Price, What the fee includes, Deposit, Setup and offboarding fees, Contract and commitment, Own entities or partnersCurrency conversion
Oyster5.5Price, What the fee includes, Deposit (partly), Setup and offboarding fees, Contract and commitment, Currency conversionOwn entities or partners
Remote5.5Price, What the fee includes, Deposit, Setup and offboarding fees (partly), Contract and commitment, Currency conversionOwn entities or partners
Playroll5Price, What the fee includes, Deposit, Setup and offboarding fees, Contract and commitmentCurrency conversion, Own entities or partners
RemoFirst5Price, What the fee includes, Setup and offboarding fees, Contract and commitment, Own entities or partnersDeposit, Currency conversion
Deel4Price, What the fee includes, Setup and offboarding fees (partly), Contract and commitment, Currency conversion (partly)Deposit, Own entities or partners
Atlas HXM3.5Price (partly), What the fee includes, Currency conversion, Own entities or partnersDeposit, Setup and offboarding fees, Contract and commitment
Lano3.5Price, What the fee includes, Setup and offboarding fees (partly), Currency conversion (partly), Own entities or partners (partly)Deposit, Contract and commitment
Borderless AI3Price, What the fee includes, Contract and commitmentDeposit, Setup and offboarding fees, Currency conversion, Own entities or partners
Globalization Partners3Price, What the fee includes, Contract and commitmentDeposit, Setup and offboarding fees, Currency conversion, Own entities or partners
Pebl2Price, What the fee includesDeposit, Setup and offboarding fees, Contract and commitment, Currency conversion, Own entities or partners
RemotePass2Price, What the fee includesDeposit, Setup and offboarding fees, Contract and commitment, Currency conversion, Own entities or partners
Rippling0NonePrice, What the fee includes, Deposit, Setup and offboarding fees, Contract and commitment, Currency conversion, Own entities or partners
Safeguard Global0NonePrice, What the fee includes, Deposit, Setup and offboarding fees, Contract and commitment, Currency conversion, Own entities or partners

12 of 14 providers answer this on the pricing page, 1 of them in part.

  • Rivermate: From US$349 per employee per month (โ‚ฌ329, ยฃ279).
  • Remote: Starting at US$599 per employee per month, for annual contracts.
  • Oyster: USD 699 per employee per month; annual discounts available.
  • RemoFirst: Starts at US$199 per person per month.
  • Playroll: From US$399 per employee per month.
  • Deel: Starting at US$599 per EOR employee per month.
  • Atlas HXM (partly): A US$599 platform fee plus a country Local Employer Services rate that isn't published.
  • Lano: From โ‚ฌ499 per employee per month.
  • Globalization Partners: Starting at USD 599 per employee per month.
  • Borderless AI: US$579 per month.
  • RemotePass: From US$349 per employee per month, including tax.
  • Pebl: US$399 per employee per month; final price confirmed by quote.
  • Not stated: Rippling and Safeguard Global.

12 of 14 providers answer this on the pricing page.

  • Rivermate: Lists contracts, payroll, taxes and benefits, and IP protection.
  • Remote: Lists onboarding, local payroll, compliance protections, benefits and the platform.
  • Oyster: Lists compliant employment, multi-country payroll, onboarding and offboarding specialists and local experts.
  • RemoFirst: Payroll, taxes and compliance, with 24/7 support.
  • Playroll: Contracts, payroll processing, statutory filing support and HR guidance; statutory costs billed separately.
  • Deel: Onboarding and compliance, payroll and tax filings, benefits administration and HR and legal support.
  • Atlas HXM: Lists EOR payroll, tax and compliance, and benefits.
  • Lano: Compliant contracts and access to local tax and HR experts.
  • Globalization Partners: Hiring, onboarding and managing employees, payroll and benefits.
  • Borderless AI: Onboarding, payroll, taxes and compliance, with local payroll experts.
  • RemotePass: Lists onboarding, payroll, compliance, pensions, benefits and contributions.
  • Pebl: Platform, expert-backed compliance, its AI assistant, reporting and support from hiring to offboarding.
  • Not stated: Rippling and Safeguard Global.

4 of 14 providers answer this on the pricing page, 1 of them in part.

  • Rivermate: A deposit of one month's payroll plus the first month's costs upfront, 100% refundable.
  • Remote: No standard deposit or deposit fee; a refundable reserve may be required in some cases, confirmed before payment.
  • Oyster (partly): Requires a refundable deposit for EOR team members; the amount isn't stated.
  • Playroll: A fully refundable security deposit equal to one month's salary.
  • Not stated: RemoFirst, Deel, Atlas HXM, Lano, Globalization Partners, Borderless AI, RemotePass, Pebl, Rippling and Safeguard Global.

7 of 14 providers answer this on the pricing page, 3 of them in part.

  • Rivermate: "No onboarding or offboarding costs."
  • Remote (partly): No setup or onboarding fees; offboarding isn't mentioned.
  • Oyster: No extra charges for setup, onboarding or processing terminations.
  • RemoFirst: No setup, onboarding or termination fees.
  • Playroll: No onboarding or offboarding fees.
  • Deel (partly): "No hidden fees", with costs included in the quoted price; setup and offboarding aren't mentioned.
  • Lano (partly): "No hidden costs"; services and add-ons are set out during scoping.
  • Not stated: Atlas HXM, Globalization Partners, Borderless AI, RemotePass, Pebl, Rippling and Safeguard Global.

8 of 14 providers answer this on the pricing page.

  • Rivermate: Month-to-month contracts with 30 days' termination notice.
  • Remote: The EOR price is for annual contracts.
  • Oyster: An annual, seat-based billing option for EOR; no minimum number of team members.
  • RemoFirst: No annual contracts and no minimums.
  • Playroll: No minimum commitment or minimum number of employees.
  • Deel: Month-to-month pricing with no long-term commitment.
  • Globalization Partners: No minimum contract length for EOR hires.
  • Borderless AI: No long-term commitments.
  • Not stated: Atlas HXM, Lano, RemotePass, Pebl, Rippling and Safeguard Global.

5 of 14 providers answer this on the pricing page, 2 of them in part.

  • Remote: One Remote FX rate per monthly billing cycle, shown on the invoice before payment and locked for the cycle.
  • Oyster: A conversion fee applies only if you pay in a currency other than the contract currency.
  • Deel (partly): "Competitive exchange rates" and "minimal fees", without saying how they're set.
  • Atlas HXM: OANDA spot rate plus a disclosed markup by currency type; wire and transfer fees included.
  • Lano (partly): Payments through local networks are free where available and SWIFT payments cost โ‚ฌ25, but conversion rates aren't stated.
  • Not stated: Rivermate, RemoFirst, Playroll, Globalization Partners, Borderless AI, RemotePass, Pebl, Rippling and Safeguard Global.

4 of 14 providers answer this on the pricing page, 1 of them in part.

  • Rivermate: "38 owned entities around the world".
  • RemoFirst: Works with vetted in-country partners rather than its own entities.
  • Atlas HXM: Employs workers through its own legal entities rather than third-party EOR partners.
  • Lano (partly): Mentions local partners for its payroll services, not for EOR specifically.
  • Not stated: Remote, Oyster, Playroll, Deel, Globalization Partners, Borderless AI, RemotePass, Pebl, Rippling and Safeguard Global.

Get the answers in writing, in the quote or the service agreement. Our EOR pricing tracker shows each provider's published price and every change we've logged.

  • Price: Ask for the monthly fee in each country you hire in, and whether it differs for annual and monthly contracts.
  • What the fee includes: Ask what the fee covers and what is billed separately, such as benefits, equipment or termination support.
  • Deposit: Ask whether a deposit is required, how much, and when it is refunded.
  • Setup and offboarding fees: Ask whether any setup, onboarding, offboarding or termination fee applies.
  • Contract and commitment: Ask for the minimum term, the notice to end the service, and what happens to the employee if you do.
  • Currency conversion: Ask which exchange rate is used, what markup applies and who bears rate movements.
  • Own entities or partners: Ask whether your hire would be employed by the provider's own entity or a partner in each country.
Which EOR providers publish their prices?
Of the 14 we audited on 26 October 2026: Rivermate, Remote, Oyster, RemoFirst, Playroll, Deel, Atlas HXM, Lano, Globalization Partners, Borderless AI, RemotePass and Pebl. Rippling and Safeguard Global price by quote. See the EOR pricing tracker for each price.
Which EOR providers require a deposit?
Among the pricing pages we read, Rivermate (A deposit of one month's payroll plus the first month's costs upfront, 100% refundable), Remote (No standard deposit or deposit fee; a refundable reserve may be required in some cases, confirmed before payment), Oyster (Requires a refundable deposit for EOR team members; the amount isn't stated) and Playroll (A fully refundable security deposit equal to one month's salary). The other 10 don't say, so ask before signing.
Which EOR providers charge setup or offboarding fees?
None of the pages that address it say they charge them. Rivermate, Oyster, RemoFirst and Playroll state there are none; Remote, Deel and Lano address them in part. The rest don't say.
Which EOR providers use their own entities?
On their pricing pages, Rivermate ("38 owned entities around the world"), RemoFirst (Works with vetted in-country partners rather than its own entities) and Atlas HXM (Employs workers through its own legal entities rather than third-party EOR partners). The others don't say on the pricing page; ask which entity would employ your hire in each country.
  1. 1
    Rivermate pricing page

    Rivermate

    Read on 26 October 2026.

  2. 2
    Remote pricing page

    Remote

    Read on 26 October 2026.

  3. 3
    Oyster pricing page

    Oyster

    Read on 26 October 2026.

  4. 4
    RemoFirst pricing page

    RemoFirst

    Read on 26 October 2026.

  5. 5
    Playroll pricing page

    Playroll

    Read on 26 October 2026.

  6. 6
    Deel pricing page

    Deel

    Read on 26 October 2026.

  7. 7
    Atlas HXM pricing page

    Atlas HXM

    Read on 26 October 2026.

  8. 8
    Lano pricing page

    Lano

    Read on 26 October 2026.

  9. 9
    Globalization Partners pricing page

    Globalization Partners

    Read on 26 October 2026.

  10. 10
    Borderless AI pricing page

    Borderless AI

    Read on 26 October 2026.

  11. 11
    RemotePass pricing page

    RemotePass

    Read on 26 October 2026.

  12. 12
    Pebl pricing page

    Pebl

    Read on 26 October 2026.

  13. 13
    Rippling pricing page

    Rippling

    Read on 26 October 2026.

  14. 14
    Safeguard Global pricing page

    Safeguard Global

    Read on 26 October 2026.